Visa Requirements
Information on visa requirements for traveling on the HIPPO Global project

All HIPPO participants should be holders of a valid passport; this passport must be valid 6 months beyond the HIPPO deployment. No yellow fever vaccinations are required.

USA Citizens visa needs are, essentially no visas needed:

  1. Boulder CO USA; Anchorage, AK USA; Honolulu, HI USA
  2. Pago Pago, American Samoa
    • VISA needed and issued ON ARRIVAL (valid up to 6 months). No need for pre-arrangements.
  3. Christchurch, New Zealand: 

    • No visa required for a stay of up to 3 months

  4. Tahiti, French Polynesia

    • No visa required for a stay of up to 1 month

  5. Easter Island, Chile

    • No visa needed, entry fee must be paid (USD$131). Each participant is to pay their own fee.

  6. Costa Rica

    • No visa needed

  7. Corpus Christi, TX USA

All crew members are to carry a certain amount of cash to cover applicable reciprocity or other immigration fees.

Citizens of South Korea need a visa to American Samoa, and a U.S. re-entry document.

Citizens of Colombia require visas to American Samoa, New Zealand, French Polynesia, Costa Rica and Chile, and a U.S. re-entry document.

 All other nationals please visit the following website for information about your visa needs.