FARE/LAOF Contact Information

The National Science Foundation (NSF), through its Division of Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences (AGS), provides multi-user national facilities in support of the geosciences community through the Facilities for Atmospheric Research and Edcuation (FARE) Program. The FARE program includes the Lower Atmosphere Observing Facilities managed and operated by the National Center for Atmospheric Research/Earth Observing Laboratory (NCAR/EOL) and the University of Wyoming (UWY), and the Community Instruments and Facilities (CIF) provided by several US universities. 

 

NSF FARE Program Director

Dr. Shree Mishra 
Program Director, NCAR & Facilities Section
Phone: (703) 292-2979
Email: sumishra@nsf.gov
Atmospheric and Geospace Sciences Division 775
National Science Foundation
2415 Eisenhower Ave
Alexandria, VA 22314

 

Request Coordination and Process (NCAR-managed LAOF)

Ms. Alison Rockwell 
Project Manager
Phone: (303) 497-8758
Email: rockwell@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

EOL Directorate

Dr. Scott McIntosh
Acting Director
Phone: (303) 497-1544
Email: mscott@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

EOL Research Aviation Facility (RAF)
Contact for NSF/NCAR GV, C-130, various airborne instrumentation

Dr. Lou Lussier
Manager
Phone: (303) 497-1080
Email: lussier@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

EOL In-situ Sensing Facility (ISF)
Contact for NCAR ISS, ISFS, AVAPS/Dropsonde

Mr. Terry Hock
Manager
Phone: (303) 497-8767
Email: hock@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

EOL Remote Sensing Facility (RSF)
Contact for NCAR S-Pol Radar, HSRL, HCR, MPD

Dr. Micheal Dixon 
Acting Manager
Phone: (303) 497-8440
Email: dixon@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

EOL Data Management and Services (DMS)
Contact for data managemetn, archival, and Field Catalog

Mr. Greg Stossmeister
Manager
Phone: (303) 497-8692
Email: gstoss@ucar.edu
NCAR/EOL
P.O. Box 3000
Boulder, CO 80307

 

University of Wyoming (UWY)-managed LAOF
Contact for UWY King Air, WCR, WCL

Dr. Jeff French
Phone: (307) 766-4143
Email: jfrench@uwyo.edu
Dept. of Atmospheric Science
University of Wyoming
Laramie, WY 82071